perfectly horrible. perfectly awful.

Today was a perfectly horrible day. Which was a great way to end a perfectly awful week. A week that I tried many times to stay upbeat and positive about…but every time I turned around, someone else was knocking me flat on my ass. And when you take multiple hits every single day…it’s difficult to want to actually get out of bed, let alone leave your house.

Some “highlights” from the week:

A principal (yes, a teaching professional) ripped me a new one, loudly, in the main office of a school…while firing me from working with their school. I hate losing accounts, but (not that this is okay) I’ve come to know what kind of emotions come with this act. THIS experience…totally different. I’ve never been treated the way that this woman treated me EVER. Not even from teenagers who simply don’t know tactful ways of speaking sometimes…those students have even treated me with more respect, more like a human being, than this woman treated me. I was appalled. To think that she is around impressionable, inner-city teens all day, every day…it’s no wonder our society is turning into the red hot mess that it is. Her actions, her words, were disgusting.

I sprained my ankle. Not that I was doing anything active, which would make this an understandable injury, but I was just walking from my standing mirror to the sink in my bathroom while finishing getting ready this morning. Graceful, huh?

I finally bought a trimmer/edger this week. The one I wanted was out of stock. The one I ended up with, was $30 more… I also blew through two rolls of the trimmer rope, and am almost through the third roll. I really dislike trimming. Not five minutes into it, something flew back and cut a huge gash on my leg. Now mind you, I have a wedding to go to in a couple of weeks…do you think that’s going to heal completely by then? Do you? Also, edging is even worse. It was the act of edging which brings me to the icing on the cake…the horrible day today:

I got up, I got ready, I did some laundry, got my girls on their leash to run to town to grab some lunch…all sounding pretty okay so far, right? Wait for it… I get in my lovely Prius, look in the rear-view mirror to back up…my small window across the back of my car…shattered. Spidered out across the entire thing. While edging yesterday, I’m guessing a small rock flew up and into my car. I’m not going to lie, it looks pretty damn bad. Both outside edges of it are completely broken away from the frame of my car…it’s bizarre looking. So I call my insurance company…Safelite can have someone here on Wednesday morning to fix it. Awesome. Someone please answer me this: What am I supposed to do all weekend? Or when I have to go to work on Tuesday? Really? This is my holiday weekend? Are you flipping kidding me (yeah…I cleaned that up a bit for my blog.)?

So…given that I have the next two, maybe three days to spend solely at my house, with no way to get anywhere…expect some nicely edited photos to be going up sometime soon! I might as well put this time to good use, right?

One side thought:

My poor car…it has endured being t-boned by a girl gunning her Jeep Grand Cherokee out of an alleyway (her bumper ended up remaining wedged in my car. I think Pri Pri won.)… the radiator basically exploded because a valve got flipped — valves that are NOT supposed to move according to the Toyota machanic… all four tires need replaced (I know this is normal, but it’s still something that I need to do…)… a rock cracked the windshield about a week after I got the car… and now the back window is shattered. I love my Prius, I really do…but how unlucky can a car be?! I shouldn’t ask that…my last car came to Ohio after being in Katrina…I know how unlucky (and expensive) a car can be. It’s no wonder that Chevy dealership went out of business…I paid for that car twice: once for the car, once for the repairs…which would have been fine if it hadn’t been $10,000. I’m no expert, but $20,000 on a Cavalier…that’s a bit extreme.

jh.

Leave a Reply

